• Infinite Upside
  • Posts
  • IU #030: Discovering Your Secret Sauce: A Job Search Strategy

IU #030: Discovering Your Secret Sauce: A Job Search Strategy

How has your week been?

I couldn't wait to tell you about mine.

I help people land their dream job in data. (By helping them make the most of online networking)

This week, I had incredible coaching sessions.

I was so impressed by my students.

Every call left me feeling more inspired than the last.

After my final session ended, I went for a long walk.

I wanted to reflect:

  • Why are my coaching students getting better results?

  • Why are they more excited than ever?

  • Everyone is becoming so creative. It is amazing. How did this happen?

During my walk, I think I figured it out.

I hope this secret sauce helps you as much as it helped them.

The secret sauce:

Imagine you were the coach of a basketball team.

Your team has a star player. They score 40 points per game. They are super confident. They constantly want the ball.

Your team also has a terrible player. Every time you throw them the ball, it hits them in the face. They suck.

You're the coach of this team.

What's your strategy?

It's simple, right? 

  • Keep the ball away from your weaker player. 

  • Pass the ball to your star player every time.

Going back to my coaching

One of my clients told me that he loves phone calls. He also loves speaking to people in person.

But online networking feels unnatural to him. He hates sending messages.

What should his strategy be?

You guessed it.

  • Get offline as quickly as possible.

  • Get on as many phone calls as he can.

Phone calls are the star player within him. That weaker player appears when he is messaging.

This is why my coaching students have been seeing better results.

Everyone has things they love doing.

Everyone has a star player within them.

I just helped them build a strategy that lets their talents shine.

And that part of them that keeps getting smashed in the face by the ball?

Yeah, we don’t pass it to them very often.

We try to hide them out of the way.

 

There is no right way to land a job.

You will never stand out if you act like everybody else.

But you will succeed faster if you tailor your strategy to YOUR personality.

This is why my coaching students are:

  • More excited than ever.

  • More creative than ever.

  • Getting results faster than ever.

Find that star player within you.

They are in their somewhere.

Pass them the ball as often as possible.

Whenever you are ready, I can help you in 4 ways: