IU #004: Overcoming Your Networking Nerves

A Guide for Shy Professionals

Online networking is a cheat code for career success.

There are so many benefits.

You can:

  • Land your dream job (without applying)

  • Land your perfect role (that was created just for you)

  • Get referred for jobs

  • Nail job interviews

  • Find valuable mentors

  • Be respected

Sounds great, right?

The only problem is that when people begin, they often feel like this...

In the beginning, everyone feels this way.

But there is no value in reading these strategies unless you implement them. So, today I will help you to overcome these fears.

One last thing before we begin.

If you didn’t receive this post in your emails, press subscribe so the next one lands safely in your inbox.

Let’s get started.

(Read time: 2-3 minutes)

Everyone gets nervous

Everyone has anxiety or imposter syndrome when they meet new people. It’s completely normal, especially at the beginning.

When I first started reaching out to people, it wasn’t easy. But the more people I spoke to, the easier it got.

Now, I think of nerves as being excited rather than scared. Just because you have feelings doesn’t mean you need to change your behaviour.

Just acknowledge your feelings and push on. You can do this.

The different fears of networking (and how to overcome them)

- Fear of Rejection

If you are looking for a job, rejection is inevitable. So, it is normal if your confidence is on the floor.

Focus on the small wins that can happen if you push on. Don’t build your strategy around avoiding rejection because you’ll never get anything done.

If you send 10 messages, don’t get hung up on the 6 people who don’t reply. Focus on the 4 who did.

It isn’t easy, but the opportunities are worth being brave for.

I called this newsletter, Infinite Upside to remember that the risk of networking is minimal, but the upside is infinite.

Solution: Start small by connecting with colleagues or other people you know. Practice your networking skills in a low-stakes environment, such as leaving comments on LinkedIn posts. Not everyone will respond, but that's okay. Remember that everyone gets nervous. Keep moving forward.

- Feeling Inauthentic

Another common fear is feeling like you're being inauthentic or "selling" yourself.

When I wrote my first e-book, How to Find a Job in Data Analytics, I loved the creative process. I interviewed 64 data experts and asked them to share their stories of their careers. I shared everything they wish they knew years ago.

It was incredible. I learned so much.

However, the second I finished the book, I dreaded promoting it.

For months I had been giving away all my content for free. The second I charged any money for it, I started to feel icky. Book promotion made me feel like a slimy salesman.

Eventually, I reframed it.

I reminded myself that it adds value to people looking for a job. After that, I didn’t feel as awkward about promoting it.

I understand that online networking can make you feel the same way. At first, it can feel like you are asking people for favours. This isn’t true.

Solution: Networking is about mutually beneficial relationships. Promoting yourself will get easier when you realise the benefits you will bring to others.

You work hard. A business would benefit from your skills and experience. Stop thinking that you are doing everyone else a favour. You are not. You are helping each other. That’s the beauty of it.

- Feeling like a Burden

Don’t worry about taking up other people’s time.

Everyone faces imposter syndrome. Your opinion has value whether you have been doing something for 60 years, 60 days, 60 minutes or 60 seconds.

Solution: People won’t do anything they don’t want to. If they are too busy, they will tell you that. All your networking will be done with people happy to do it. Don’t think of yourself as an inconvenience. Focus on making the interaction the highlight of both your days.

- Not Knowing What to Say

When I first reached out to people on LinkedIn, I was awful at it. I would send super long messages that didn’t go anywhere. I had no idea what I was doing.

Solution: Prepare by researching the people you want to connect with and the topics you want to discuss. I will provide guidance for exactly what to say and do. The more you practice, the easier it will get it.

How to Face Your Fears

  • Set goals

  • Remember that everyone gets nervous

  • Remember it’s a two-way street

  • Be prepared

  • Start small

  • Be yourself

  • Enjoy it

I hope this helped you get over your networking fears. It’s a work in progress, so it will get easier as time goes on.

Feel free to ask me anything. I’ll try my best to help.

You can find me in the comments section of my LinkedIn posts. I love to hear from you there.

If my content is helping you get results, I’d love to hear about your recent wins. No achievement is too small.

I could even put a section at the bottom of each newsletter sharing our wins for the week. It could be a fun way for us all to stay motivated.

You can find my previous newsletters here. Please share this link with your friends. I would love to help them too!

Finally, if How to Find a Job in Data Analytics sounded useful, you can grab it here too.

See you next week!

Michael