IU #013: Improve Your LinkedIn Profile In Minutes

In the past 90 days, 6,046 people have clicked on my LinkedIn profile.

This has led to job offers, podcast invitations and many other exciting ventures.

Pretty cool, right?

I cannot wait to share how I got so many eyes on my LinkedIn profile. I am working on a new project to help you get similar results.

But before helping you invite more people to your digital home, I want to help you tidy it up first.

So today, I’ll share an 8-step strategy to fix your LinkedIn profile. By following these steps, you’ll be perfectly positioned to capture every opportunity that comes your way.

If you didn’t receive this post in your emails, hit subscribe so you don’t miss it next time.

Every Friday, I share a strategy to help you land a job in data through online networking.

(Read time: 3 minutes)

1) Add a Professional Photo

Start with a professional, well-lit photo of you smiling. It's the first thing people see and it sets the tone.

Try to find the balance between professional and approachable.

2) Create a Banner in Canva:

When people land on my profile, I want them to know that I can help them land a job through online networking.

I also want them to grab a free copy of my e-book. Hence, this is my banner. It’s simple and to the point.

If you are a data analyst looking for a job, I would recommend your banner says that. My friend Thais does this really well:

3) Make a Catchy LinkedIn Headline:

The headline under your photo is your chance to reel in your audience. Every time you leave a comment, this headline is the first thing people see.

Make a bold statement about your value.

As you can see above, mine is, 'I help data analysts use online networking to land their dream job'.

I took a few months off social media last summer but I still got thousands of connection requests every week. This is the power of a great headline.

4) Update Your ‘About’ Section:

Your 'About' section should share your career story.

Try not to focus on your whole life story. Focus on how you can add value today.

Share your professional background, how you can help people and explain what you want people to do next. Use bullet points to make it easy to read.

I used mine to explain how I help people land a job. I also shared links to my resume review and 1:1 coaching services.

5) Highlight Your Experience and Skills:

This Experience section can match the Experience section in your resume. You could even copy the essential points to maintain consistency.

I used mine as an opportunity to explain my 1:1 coaching service.

6) Add a Link to Your Portfolio:

Forgetting to share your projects on LinkedIn is like building an art gallery and locking the front door. There’s a line of people outside waiting. Let them in!

Bonus tip - A custom URL will get more clicks.

Mine is “I can help you land a job.” This links to my e-book. The link on Thais account says, “Check out my portfolio”.

These simple calls-to-action are a great way to guide your audience.

7) Get Recommendations:

Recommendations from colleagues and clients can help validate your skills and experience. Reach out to past colleagues and ask for a short testimonial.

This social proof can dramatically increase your chances of landing your dream job.

Whenever I help someone land a job, I ask them to leave a short review of the results they achieved. These testimonials are so important.

8) Add to your Featured Section:

If you have a portfolio of work, this is a great place to upload some documents.

I used this space to put my e-book, coaching and newsletter.

So, when thousands of people head to my profile, they can check out my services.

In summary:

  1. Add a Professional Photo

  2. Create a Banner in Canva

  3. Make a Catchy LinkedIn Headline

  4. Your ‘About’ Section

  5. Highlight Your Experience and Skills:

  6. Add a Link to Your Portfolio

  7. Get Recommendations

  8. Add to your Featured Section

See you next week,

Michael

P.S.

Check out my 1:1 career coaching & resume review services & my e-books here. Feel free to share these links with your friends.

You can find my LinkedIn content here. I post job-hunting tips every day and I respond to every comment.

If you have any questions, hit reply to this email and I can help you out.