• Infinite Upside
  • Posts
  • IU #029: Another coaching student landed her dream job!

IU #029: Another coaching student landed her dream job!

One of my coaching students just landed a job! 

I’m so excited for her. She’s so delighted.

And that makes me so happy. 

Before her recent job interviews, I sent her some advice.

I explained exactly how to handle that first phone call.

Today, I will share what I said so you can benefit too.

I hope these tips help you as much as they helped her!

Your First Phone Call

After applying for the job, your first interview will be with a recruiter or their HR department.

They will ask some basic questions:

  • Tell me about yourself?

To answer, tell your ‘career story’ in 3 parts.

1) You have X number of years of experience. (Briefly explain)

2) Explain how you’ve been using data throughout your career.

3) Show how your past experience makes you fit well into their company culture.

End your answer with, “That’s why I thought I was a great fit for this role. I am really excited about it.”

In later questions, keep referring back to these 3 points (as they are the reasons to hire you).

  • Why did you apply?

This can be similar to answer above.

Basically, double-down on whatever the person liked most from your first answer.

  • Tell us about your experience using tools such as…

Study the job description before the interview.

Pick out 2-3 skills.

They’ll ask how much experience you have with each skill.

They may also ask for an example of a time you used them.

I hope this was useful.

See you next week (for an exciting announcement!)

Michael

P.S.

Whenever you are ready, I can help you transform your career in 5 ways:

2) 1:1 coaching session (via video or email)